Why You Can’t Miss the 2024 Women’s Six Nations Championship

(Last Updated On: )

The annual women’s rugby competition will begin on March 23rd and finish on April 27th. Participants in the Six Nations Championship are England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, and Wales. England has won the last five titles in a row and will hope to keep up this record. This will be the 23rd edition of the competition. 

Six Nations Rugby and Guinness partnership

Guinness became the first partner of the Women’s Six Nations in 2019. Its new Title partnership with the Women’s Six Nations shows its support for women’s rugby. The women’s Championship will be renamed as the Guinness Women’s Six Nations. This partnership will help to support the talent and skill of women players. The championship is set to grow and gain even wider viewership with this partnership. 

Spectators from across the world enjoy watching women’s rugby, and audience sizes are increasing as the buzz around matches grows. In 2024, vast international coverage will give fans access to all the action. In the U.S., fans of some of the largest sports events in the world can now legally place bets at a sports betting casino

Opening weekend

Each team will play against each other in five rounds of fixtures, and matches will happen at some iconic stadiums. 

On the Saturday of the opening weekend, France will play Ireland at Stade Marie-Marvingt, Le Mans, France. Wales will play Scotland at Cardiff Arms Park in Cardiff, Wales. On Sunday, England will travel to play against Italy at the Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma, Italy.

The Red Roses of England have won 87 out of 99 matches in the championship. How they play against Italy in the opening weekend will give some insights into what to expect from the team. Can they hold on to the title for their sixth year in a row, or will the victory go to another nation?

Round Two

Round Two of five rounds of fixtures will take place over the Easter Weekend on the 30th and 31st of March. Wales will play England, which should be an interesting match to watch as there is great rivalry between the two teams. Scotland will play France, and Ireland will play Italy. 

Round Three

Round three on the 13th and 14th of April has Scotland hosting England. Ireland will play against Wales, and France against Italy. 

Round Four

England will host Ireland on their home turf on Saturday, April 20th. The match against France in 2023 saw one of the highest attendances ever at Twickenham Stadium. This year’s match is almost guaranteed to be a high-action, intense game. Scotland will travel to Italy in round four, and Wales will play against France. 

Super Saturday

Super Saturday takes place on April 27th. Wales will host Italy, Ireland will play Scotland, and France will host England in a final round of games. This will be one of the most anticipated sports events in 2024

Top women rugby players

Marlie Packer, the Red Roses captain, was crowned World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year in 2023. Emily Scarratt is another pivotal player in England’s squad. Gabrielle Vernier is one of the most skilled players in the French squad and one of the best centers in the world. She was a key player for France in 2023. Katelyn Vaha’akolo of the Black Ferns is another player to watch. 

What to expect in 2024

Women’s rugby is going from strength to strength and inspiring future generations. Female rugby players have a chance to shine. With the fixtures set out for 2024, fans worldwide can expect an incredible championship. 

Sport is transcending the boundaries of physical stadiums. Spectators now have the opportunity to watch online sports on their mobile devices. There are likely to be many people watching the streaming of the championships on their phones in 2024. Women’s Rugby is having the moment it deserves in a previously male-dominated sport.


About The Author

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top